E. Lyle and Nedean Golliher Sparks Special Education Scholarship

E. Lyle Sparks was a pioneer in the development and delivery of services to the handicapped and disabled students of Illinois. Lyle was known statewide as a leader in special education.

Sparks began his career as a speech pathologist in the Roxanna School District and then advanced to special education coordinator of the Cook County School District. From there he became director of the special education district in Carmi. At Murphysboro, Lyle created the joint agreement for the Tri-County Special Education District which serves all schools in Jackson, Union and Perry counties. He served as director of that organization beginning in 1968 until his retirement in 1994.

Sparks exemplified through his lifestyle, the meaning of warmth, empathy, sincerity, and friendship to those whom he worked with and served. He was firm in his beliefs and goals and was tenacious in his pursuit of them.

  • Scholarship for students majoring in Special Education or for current teachers taking courses to earn their Special Education certification.
  • Recipient must also be a resident of Illinois, display financial need, and have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5.

Nedean Golliher Sparks
Area of Interest
School of Education, Curriculum & Instruction